#KILLALLZOMBIES Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, 22 August 2016
in Xbox Reviews

 

Genre: Action, Indie, Zombies
Developer: Beatshapers
Publisher: Digerati Distribution
Release Date: Aug 10, 2016
Available Platforms: Windows, PS4, XBOX One
Reviewed Platforms: XBOX One
 
There are some games where the name says it all. #KILLALLZOMBIES is exactly that, a game where players get a gun, a blank room, and are faced with hordes of zombies. When I died, it was over. The idea is to rack up the highest score before perishing. That’s it.

Review - Homefront: The Revolution. (XB1)

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, 21 May 2016
in Xbox Reviews

 

There was a time when the idea behind a US invasion sounded both exciting and interesting as a premise for a video game. In a real world scenario it’s rather frightening, but in hypothetical situations, it can make for some interesting fiction. Movies have done it, and a few games as well. Nothing has truly captured that gritty feeling in the gaming world, though the original Homefront came really close. It was a rather short campaign that left things on a cliffhanger, and there has been nothing since. Well forget all that, as Homefront Revolution is only similar in name and spirt, as this is a retelling of Homefront and a open world first person shooter that aims to take those previous ideas on a grander scale. Does it succeed though?

Review - EA Sports UFC 2. (XB1)

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, 20 March 2016
in Xbox Reviews

 

I’m a pretty big fighting game player in the traditional sense, plus I’ve always enjoyed the absolute brutality of the sport itself, so even though I’m not seasoned in the game series itself, I was willing to give it the “old college try.”

Review - Reagan Gorbachev. (XB1)

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, 28 February 2016
in Xbox Reviews

 

There are those games that release that break the mold. They stand out from the pack in many different ways, and offer up a unique experience for the player. Games like that will be remembered for their innovations. Then there’s Reagan Gorbachev, a game that revels in its own insanity and embraces it, which it will be remembered for the fact that I’m playing as Ronald Reagan and Mikhail Gorbachev as they go around a military base killing soldiers with samurai swords and poison dart arrows…and shotguns and rocket launchers.

Game of Thrones: Episode 5 - A Nest of Vipers XB1 Review.

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, 29 July 2015
in Xbox Reviews

 

Title: Game of Thrones: Episode 5 - A Nest of Vipers
Developer: Telltale Games
Publisher: Telltale Games
Release Date: July 21, 2015
Rating: Mature


The closer that Telltale Games’ episodic spin-off of Game of Thrones reaches its conclusion, the more frustrating it becomes. After four episodes, it was clearly obvious that the promise that players would make meaningful choices to shape the narrative of their own story had ultimately amounted to little, and the latest episode only cements this bitter fact; once more, the actions and fates of characters remains unavoidable, regardless of what the story may lead you to believe, and whatever subtle changes occur from the limited player input are rendered moot within minutes of each “difficult” choice that must be made.

Game of Thrones: Episode 4 - Sons of Winter XB1 Review.

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, 08 June 2015
in Xbox Reviews

Title: Game of Thrones: Episode 4 - Sons of Winter

Developer: Telltale Games

Publisher: Telltale Games

Release Date: May 27, 2015

Rating: Mature


As the latest episode of the Game of Thrones television series left us in a state of excitement on what's to come, so did the latest in installment in the Telltale Games series. Be warned, this review does feature some spoilers, so read at your own risk.

Destiny - House of Wolves DLC Review

Posted by Mike Henriquez
Mike Henriquez
Type in your bio information here
User is currently offline
on Sunday, 31 May 2015
in Xbox Reviews

 

Wait for this house to foreclose!

Dragon Ball Xenoverse Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, 18 March 2015
in Xbox Reviews

One step forward, two steps back.

Life is Strange: Episode 1 – Chrysalis Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, 16 February 2015
in Xbox Reviews


Imagine for a second you’re playing The Walking Dead, a very choice-driven game. You make a choice and almost immediately don’t like the outcome of what you chose. Besides going back and reloading the last checkpoint, you’re pretty much stuck with it. Now imagine that you could change it. Go back just a few seconds and change what you just did with the knowledge of what may happen with your choice. It would be a very different game. That game is Life is Strange. Now if you ask yourself “I wonder what would have happened if I chose a different path?”, you can find out with no consequences.

Dragon Age: Inquisition Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, 22 January 2015
in Xbox Reviews



Let me just say, I absolutely love Dragon Age. I fell in love with its world and characters a long time ago, and when first seeing Dragon Age: Inquisition in trailers, I was so excited to get my hands on the game. The series has always had a robust combat system mixed with a rich story set in high fantasy. Things in Origins were epic in scale while events that took place in Dragon Age II may have been more drawn out, but ultimately started and set up an even bigger threat to the world of Thedas. Finally, in Inquisition, we get to see what has and will transpire.

Resident Evil HD Remastered Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, 22 January 2015
in Xbox Reviews



Resident Evil holds a special place in my gaming memories. It was one of those titles I played at the magical impressionable age, where its fondness is stored in the best of places. I still remember getting the game on launch, spending an entire weekend beating it with both characters, and loving every second of it. The Gamecube remake of the original is still considered by many as the best the series has ever been, and until now anyone without the system has likely never experienced it (it did land on the Wii, but was criminally overlooked).

Funk of Titans (XB1) Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, 08 January 2015
in Xbox Reviews



When I first heard about Funk of Titans, I was under the impression that it was a standard 2D platformer with a few combat elements thrown in. Much to my surprise when I booted up the game, Perseus, the main protagonist, runs automatically, with me controlling the jumping and quick attacks as he runs through levels. So, here we have an auto runner set in a funky ancient Greece where Perseus looks like Black Dynamite and must defeat titans of music genres via dance-offs. Strangely enough, I actually liked it.

The Crew Review

Posted by Mark
Mark
Super User has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, 06 January 2015
in Xbox Reviews

I enjoy a fun racing game. The Need for Speed series has always held a place in my heart, with its hokey stories and blockbuster action movie game play. In recent years, many racing games have gone away from the Fast and Furious style, and moved more to a traditional take on the racing scene. Enter The Crew, a new racing game set in the streets of practically every major city in the US, and with it, the hokey action movie story I’ve been looking for.

Review: Destiny - The Dark Below DLC

Posted by Mike Henriquez
Mike Henriquez
Type in your bio information here
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, 09 December 2014
in Xbox Reviews